Health Minister chairs award jury meeting

Manama: The jury in charge of designating the winners of Khalifa bin Salman Al Khalifa Award for Bahraini Doctor” convened for its first meeting today.His Royal Highness Prime Minister Prince Khalifa bin Salman Al-Khalifa initiated the prize in tribute to Bahraini doctors working in the private and private sectors and contributing to enhancing medical services.

Health Minister Faeqa bint Said Al-Saleh chaired the meeting of the panel which will designate the winners who will be honoured on the first Wednesday in November.

She welcomed the kury which includes members from the Health Ministry, HRH the Premier’s Court, Bahrain Medical Society (BMS), the World Health Organisation, the Arabian Gulf University (AGU) and the Irish Royal College of Surgeons, in addition to six other leading practitioners.

The minister extended deepest thanks and appreciation to HRH the Premier for his initiative which will serve as a catalyst to Bahraini doctors, earning regional and international praise, including the Geneva-based World Health Organisation.

She called on all Bahraini doctors to take part in the contest, adding that the last day to receive nominations for the annual prize would be on Saturday, corresting to the 5th of September.

The meeting was attended by HRH Premier’s Court Advisor Abdulla Abbas Hamad, HRH Premier’s Court Evaluation and Analysis director Farida Abdulrahim Khonji, BMS Chairperson Dr. Ghada Mohammed Al-Qassim, Dr. Ahmed bin Salem Al-Mandhari, AGU President Dr. Khalid Abdulrahman Al-Ohali, RCSI-Bahrain President Professor Dr. Samir Al Atoum., WHO Assistant Director General for Antimicrobial Resistance, Dr. Hanan Balkhy, Professor Cathal Kelly, Professor Kenneth Christopher and Professor Sotirios Nedios.